Back

Fresnillo

Zacatecas

A very young Francisco de Ibarra founded Fresnillo in 1554 when he was only 15 years old and had been sent by his uncle to explore the area accompanied by other more experienced Spaniards, such as Juan de Tolosa. They had traveled about 60 kilometers ( 37 miles ) north from the city of Zacatecas when they found an Ojo de agua ( waterhole ) where a small ash tree was growing, so they named the place Ojo de Aguas del Fresnillo.

Although the settlement of the miners and the exploitation of the mines in the area began several years later, starting in 1566 the San Demetrio mine, today is known as the Plateros mine, and the Proaño mine was discovered.

The production of silver continues, and the Fresnillo mine is the largest producer of this metal in the world. And El Ojo de Aguas del Fresnillo changed its name to Fresnillo de Gonzalez Echeverria to honor a local leader from the early years of Independence.

The wealth generated by the mining industry over the centuries shines on Fresnillo's streets, which are full of charming places to visit. The main square or Jardín Madero is a good starting point to tour the second-largest city in the state of Zacatecas, after the capital.

In the downtown area stands a kiosk given to the city by President Porfirio Diaz in 1910 to celebrate the centenary of Mexico's Independence. On one side is La Iglesia de la Purificación (Church of the Purification) from 1750, consecrated to the Virgin of Candelaria. It was built with the donations of the richest miners and witnessed many moments of the country's history, which is why its tower has traces of the impact of bullets.

A few feet away from there is La Presidencia Municipal (the Municipal Presidency) in a building dating from 1580 where a prison originally operated. El Antiguo Templo de la Concepción (The Old Temple of the Conception), on the other hand, was part of a convent built in 1580 by the first evangelists, but its lands were occupied as a common grave to bury the victims of the cholera epidemic of 1833.

Other interesting buildings in Fresnillo are the theater José González Echeverría, the Church of Santa Ana, the oldest in the city built in 1570; and the Hemiciclo a Hidalgo, besides el Jardín del Obelisco (Obelisk Garden) that has a sundial and an obelisk with the distance from that point to different corners of the planet.

A very young Francisco de Ibarra founded Fresnillo in 1554 when he was only 15 years old and had been sent by his uncle to explore the area accompanied by other more experienced Spaniards, such as Juan de Tolosa. They had traveled about 60 kilometers ( 37 miles ) north from the city of Zacatecas when they found an Ojo de agua ( waterhole ) where a small ash tree was growing, so they named the place Ojo de Aguas del Fresnillo.

Show more information


Although the settlement of the miners and the exploitation of the mines in the area began several years later, starting in 1566 the San Demetrio mine, today is known as the Plateros mine, and the Proaño mine was discovered.

The production of silver continues, and the Fresnillo mine is the largest producer of this metal in the world. And El Ojo de Aguas del Fresnillo changed its name to Fresnillo de Gonzalez Echeverria to honor a local leader from the early years of Independence.

The wealth generated by the mining industry over the centuries shines on Fresnillo's streets, which are full of charming places to visit. The main square or Jardín Madero is a good starting point to tour the second-largest city in the state of Zacatecas, after the capital.

In the downtown area stands a kiosk given to the city by President Porfirio Diaz in 1910 to celebrate the centenary of Mexico's Independence. On one side is La Iglesia de la Purificación (Church of the Purification) from 1750, consecrated to the Virgin of Candelaria. It was built with the donations of the richest miners and witnessed many moments of the country's history, which is why its tower has traces of the impact of bullets.

A few feet away from there is La Presidencia Municipal (the Municipal Presidency) in a building dating from 1580 where a prison originally operated. El Antiguo Templo de la Concepción (The Old Temple of the Conception), on the other hand, was part of a convent built in 1580 by the first evangelists, but its lands were occupied as a common grave to bury the victims of the cholera epidemic of 1833.

Other interesting buildings in Fresnillo are the theater José González Echeverría, the Church of Santa Ana, the oldest in the city built in 1570; and the Hemiciclo a Hidalgo, besides el Jardín del Obelisco (Obelisk Garden) that has a sundial and an obelisk with the distance from that point to different corners of the planet.

Show less

Things to do in Fresnillo
Fresnillo Map
Book now!
Price range
Category
,
Details

Price range
Category
,
Details

Price range
Category
,
Search

Price range
Category
,
Details

Write a key word