Climate and time zones

Time zones
Summer and winter timetables
In Mexico there are three time zones: the Northwest, Pacific and Center.
Between the first and second there is an hour of difference and between the second and third is also an hour apart.

From the first Sunday of April to the last Sunday of October, summer time is used in most of the country, which seeks to take advantage of the sunlight in the afternoon and save electricity. At this time, the clocks are delayed by one hour. Sonora is the only state in Mexico where the schedule change is NOT applicable.

When planning your trip we recommend you to know the weather of the state that you will visit, in order to pack the right clothes. Many travelers assume that the weather in Mexico is always warm; However, the reality is that it can vary greatly from one destination to another and from one era to another.

The climate in Mexico is as varied as its orography: there are tropical forests, arid deserts, fertile valleys and snowy mountains. The coasts are usually hot throughout the year, although in some months it rains a lot. In Mexico City the climate is quite pleasant; Neither too hot nor too cold. In the central plateau the climate is cool, as in the mountainous areas.

In some northern states, such as Monterrey and Chihuahua, it is very hot in the summer season and extreme cold in the winter. Before traveling to Mexican beaches, make sure it is not a hurricane season.