Walking around the city of Morelia is a unique and unforgettable experience. Morelia's architecture can't fail to catch the eye of all its visitors. Historic buildings in the city have been featured in TV commercials as well as in various Mexican movies, and are undeniably an ideal setting for wedding and family photographs. Examples to look out for include: the aqueduct with its 253 baroque arches, constructed in 1785 to provide drinking water for Morelia; the Alhondiga, which was built in 1774 as a granary but now houses the city's civil courts; and the stunning Cathedral of the Divine Savior of Morelia.
The Cathedral is perhaps Morelia's most representative building. Built between 1660 and 1744, the building features elements of Neoclassical, Herreresque and Baroque architectural traditions. The building houses an organ from Germany with a staggering 4,600 pipes, making it one of the largest in Latin America. The cathedral is truly a sight to behold, especially on Saturday evenings when the building is flooded with sound and light.
Constructed out of pink quarry stone, its baroque interior is full of neoclassical touches, although one in particular stands out from the pre-Hispanic era: the Cristo de la Sacristia (Christ of the Sacristy or Vestry) crafted from a paste made from corn cane. At night, a spectacular light show illuminates the cathedral: you can spot it from miles away, emanating its characteristic beauty.
Another architectural stunner in Morelia's historic downtown is the University Cultural Center of the Universidad Michoacana de San Nicolas de Hidalgo. Built between 1991 and 1992, the center boasts two large exhibition rooms with displays of books, paintings, and historical documents.
In the Municipal Palace, which dates from the 18th century, the large central courtyard with its octagonal shape and central fountain and gardens, is an absolute must-see while you're in the city. Yet perhaps the most impressive sight for tourists is the aqueduct that crosses the city, supported on 253 Baroque-style arches. Its construction was ordered by Bishop Fray Antonio de San Miguel in 1785 to provide drinking water to the city and employment for indigenous peoples.